Cake in a jar the best by far!

This past weekend dear friends of mine invited me to their annual Bocce Tournament. I was a little nervous at first as I had never played Bocce in my life! It was so fun and I actually ended up being pretty good! My parter and I came in second place! Woohooo!!

Before the Bocce competition began we had some serious good eats! Everything from rustic flatbread pizza to mini pulled pork sliders and lettuce wraps that were out of this world!

Anyways, on with the cake factor the baker in me decided to bring dessert. It has been awhile since I have had time to bake or be crafty in the kitchen and I had so much fun making these sweet little treats. As mason jars are all the rage right now, why not arrive in style with cake in a jar?!

Here it goes friends!

First I started by baking a basic sheet cake (you can use any cake recipe for this) below is the one that I used:

1 box lemon cake mix
1 small lemon jello instant pudding mix
4 large egg whites
1 cup sour cream
1/2 milk
1/3 cup oil
Let me start by saying that I would usually bake my cake from scratch but as there are quite a few steps to this recipe I decided to go the pudding/cake mix route.
Preheat your oven to 350 and line a large rectangle pan or two square pans with parchment.

Mix all of the above ingredients on medium  speed for about 2 minutes or until fairly smooth. Pour your batter into your pan/pans in a thin layer, about 1/2 an inch this way you can cut each layer out with a cookie cutter. Bake for approx. 15 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Remove from oven and let cool COMPLETELY, this is very important as you do not want to trap heat into your jar during assembly.

I chose to make a homemade cream cheese icing for my jars but you can use anything you prefer. If you are going to be outdoors however I would suggest a buttercream recipe as it is much more stable.

My cream cheese icing consisted of the below:

1cup softened SALTED butter (I never use unsalted butter for my buttercreams)
2 bricks of softened cream cheese

1TBS Madagascar vanilla bean paste

1 bag of powdered sugar

I creamed my butter in the mixer on medium for about a minute and then added my cc. I slowly sifted my powdered sugar into my mixer on low and gradually added 1TBS of milk as needed. After I had reached my preferred consistency I filled my piping bag and set it aside.

I decided to use a piping bag filled with raspberry jam for this recipe because I like the tartness but you could use anything really, I’m sure blueberry would have been wonderful as well.

Now the fun part!

1. Pipe icing in bottom of jar

2. Place cake cut out in jar

3. Pipe icing and jam in jar and top w/ raspberry

4. Repeat step 2 and 3

5. Zest a lemon over all jars and Viola!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cake in a jar the best by far!

  1. Kym says:

    You’re so creative Christie! I love the cake in a jar idea!!!

  2. crindahl says:

    Thanks Kym!! I love your blog! So inspiring!

Leave a Reply

